Browse > Home / Highlights / Colleges and Schools Highlights

| Subscribe via RSS

Colleges and Schools Highlights

May 19th, 2016 Posted in Highlights

College of Engineering

Yujie Chen received his Master of Science (Engineering Systems) in 2010. He was named a 2016 Outstanding Young Manufacturing Engineer

For more College of Engineering alumni news, check out:


College of Business

The College of Business reached new heights of excellence in 2015. As such, they celebrated accordingly at their annual Awards and Scholarship Gala. Held at the Las Colinas Four Seasons on Friday April 22nd at 6:30pm, the evening featured a cocktail reception and build-your-own pasta bar. President Neal Smatresk spoke about the accolades of the college, and recently appointed Dean Marilyn Wiley honored the college’s two new Hall of Fame inductees Don Millican (’74) and Jim Mewhinney (’70), and Rising Star Chris Sundberg (’13). Each of the five college departments announced the recipients of their scholarships and the evening concluded with thunderous applause for MC and Professor, Mike Sexton. To view pictures, please visit


Graduate School



College of Information

Mariann Sears has produced An Oral History of Law Librarianship – video interviews contain interviews of active and retired law librarians and others related to the profession. The series showcases the profession and their experiences.

The College of Information Department of Library & Information Sciences hosted a booth at the Texas Library Association Conference in Houston.  Many alumni came by the booth to visit with faculty and other alumni.  A few of the visitors includes:

Sue Wheeler (2010) with Dr. Ana Cleveland. Sue had just returned from the Boston Marathon – she is wearing her metal.

Sue Wheeler (2010) with Dr. Ana Cleveland
Drs. Cleveland and Philbrick with alumnae Vilma Betancourt (2010) and Dileyda Martinez (2014).


College of Merchandising, Hospitality & Tourism

2016 Presidential Excellence Award – UNT Merchandising and Digital Retailing students

University of North Texas President Neal Smatresk presented UNT merchandising and digital retailing students Ashley Nudge, Katelyn Patrick, Nichole Fallis and McKenzie Hibler with the Presidential Excellence Award at the 2016 Wingspan Gala for their Medici RFID Trattoria Tote design that won first place in the National Retail Federation Student Challenge.

Learn more about the inaugural Wingspan Gala and awards. >>

“Glitch” Without a Hitch

DRC__DigitalGlitch1Merchandising Inc. is a student organization in the College of Merchandising and Hospitality Management’s Department of Merchandising and Digital Retailing.  Members recently showed off their talents during their 24th Annual Fashion Show. The theme of student-run fashion design group’s event this year was “Digital Glitch,” which merged music, visuals and fashion to examine the growing role technology plays in the lives of millennials.

The leadership in CMHT is especially proud to call the students of Merchandising Inc. our own. They are the ONLY student organization at the university to have ever fully endowed an academic scholarship. The fund was established in 2014 in memory of Jaime Regen, a former member who passed away from melanoma. Today the fund provides $1,000 awards to qualified recipients.  Merchandising Inc. utilizes the fashion show and other fundraising activities to raise funds for the scholarship. They are not only smart and talented, but philanthropic-minded as well.

(See link below for more photos)


Mayborn School of Journalism

Alumni updates:

  • Congratulations to Scott Parks, a UNT journalism alum and his team at the Denton Record-Chronicle, for earning 17 awards including first place in six categories in the 2016 Texas Associated Press Managing Editors (TAPME) Awards Contest. Parks won first place in the editorial writing category. UNT alumnus David Minton won first place in the feature photography category as well as two other awards. Former DRC reporter and UNT alumnus Christian McPhate placed second for his “Missing Misty” series.
  • Kudos to Annette Nevins, M.J. 2014, earned third place in the 2016 TAPME Awards Contest for a feature story.
  • Congratulations to Mike Drago, B.A. 1990. He was named line editor of the year by The Dallas Morning News for his work in 2015.
  • Shawn Gadley, M.A. 2014, is now the content creative lead for Flowers Communications Group in the Chicago area.
  • Nitie “Damian” Atamenwan, M.J. 2015, is working as digital marketing strategist at Global Solutions and Technology, Inc. (GSATi) in Denton.
  • Caitlyn Jones, B.A. 2015, is the new education reporter at the Denton Record-Chronicle. She replaces Britney Tabor, a Mayborn graduate student, who has become the DRC’s  courthouse reporter after eight years on the education beat.
  • Vanessa Lewis Ellison, B.A. 2011, is the community business development manager with Barnes & Noble.
  • Lance Ragland, B.A. 2015, is a media assistant with the Quad Cities River Bandits
  • Shay Shull, B.A. 2003, is an entrepreneur, author and foodie blogger known as the “Mix-and-Match Mama.” Her books include Mix-and-Match Cakes: The Simple Secret to 101 Delicious Wow Worthy Cakes and Mix-and-Match Meal Planner: Your Weekly Guide to Getting Dinner on the Table. Here’s the link to her website:
  • Lori Todd, A., 1999, is the national sales director for CC Dancewear by Cheerleading Company and the social media coordinator for the entire company.


College of Education

College updates:
UNT to expand low-cost autism services

Recent COE doctoral grad earns scholar award from international organization

Teacher exchange: UNT program helps educators learn about methods, culture across borders

Alumnus named superintendent of Sherman ISD




Click the links below to read further about what is happening in North Texas Athletics!




Football Season Tickets are on sale for the 2016 season contact the Ticket Office at 940-565-2527

Renew your Mean Green Club membership deadline is June 30th! Renew today to take advantage of payment plan options!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.