Browse > Home / Highlights / Colleges and Schools Highlights

| Subscribe via RSS

Colleges and Schools Highlights

December 6th, 2011 Posted in Highlights

College of Education

National award given to educational administration students

Robert Bostic

Lisa Young

Southwest Securities/UNT Superintendent Certification Program students Robert Bostic and Lisa Young have been named recipients of the American Association of School Administrators (AASA) Educational Administration Scholarship. They were two of only seven awardees nationally, each receiving $2,500, and will be presented with an award and their scholarship at the 2012 National Conference on Education (NCE) in Houston, TX in February, 2012.

Bostic, current director of technology for the Denton ISD, states that he is “humbled by this award.” Young, coordinator for 21st century learning and professional development for Southlake Carroll ISD, thanks the AASA for “offering this generous award and to my UNT professors for nominating me.” Young believes that being part of the UNT superintendent cohort has provided her a support for all of her educational and career endeavors. She stated, “I ask the cohort’s opinions, share my concerns and hear about their experiences. This program has provided me with friends who are genuine, intelligent and helpful.”

Congratulations to these outstanding individuals.

College of Information

All UNT LIS alumni and students are invited to a Meet & Greet during the ALA Midwinter in Dallas! More information on the event is below.

Omni Hotel, The Owner’s Box – Sports Bar and Café (hotel is adjacent to the Convention Center)

Saturday, January 21, 2012

There are Happy Hour specials until 7 pm.

If you are not attending ALA Midwinter but still want to attend the Meet & Greet, there is general parking across the street from the Omni Hotel.

Look for the UNT sign that will be pointing you in the right direction of the event.

After 6:00pm guests must be 21 to enter.

The Owner’s Box Address:
555 S. Lamar
Dallas, TX 75202
Phone: (214) 744-6664

College of Public Affairs and Community Service

An invitation to Alumni & Friends of the Department of Behavior Analysis…

Join University of North Texas President V. Lane Rawlins and the Society for the Advancement of Behavior Analysis in Seattle, Washington on May 26, 2012 to recognize the selection of UNT’s Department of Behavior Analysis for the 2012 Enduring Programmatic Contributions in Behavior Analysis Award.  The Department is pleased to announce an “Alumni & Friends Dinner” Sunday, May 27, 2012 at 7:00 p.m. at the Sheraton Hotel in Seattle (ABAI Program hotel).  The dinner will be followed immediately by the UNT Department of Behavior Analysis Reunion and Awards Celebration.  We’ll be contacting you with more details as they develop.

This extremely prestigious award is presented to the “leaders in the field of Behavior Analysis” and you may learn more by visiting this website:

For more information, to sponsor a table, or to get more involved, please contact Carla Smith (

College of Visual Arts and Design

Two UNT students, Marta Caceres and Elizabeth Barron, earned second place in the 2011 Student Design Competition presented by the Texas Chapter of the American Society of Interior Designers. Caceres, a senior from El Salvador, earned the second-place award in the hospitality design category for designing floor plans for Tropical Paradise, a tropical-inspired restaurant within a hotel. Barron, a senior from Plano, won second place in the residential design category for designing a residential space from a barn structure using the concept of a weathervane. After working in the business field for 14 years, Barron decided to return to school to pursue a degree in interior design. Both students received a trophy, a complimentary Student Profile for one year on the ASID Texas Chapter website, and will be recognized in the ASID Texas Chapter quarterly newsletter, Design Texas.

Frank W. and Sue Mayborn School of Journalism

Spike Johnson, a May 2011 graduate of the Mayborn Graduate Institute of Journalism, and native of England, took first prize in the International Picture Story category of the College Photographer of the Year contest for his intimate portrayal of a Texas survivalist militia.   This is the premiere photo competition for college undergraduate and graduate student photographers and is the first prize for the Mayborn School of Journalism.

Johnson now lives and works in London. His most recent project was to photograph and write about Dale Farm, the largest illegal Travelers’ camp in the United Kingdom. Johnson’s website features photos from Texas and beyond:

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.